Downtown London - News

March 2015

  • The Evolution of Richmond Row

    March 12, 2015

    The Evolution of Richmond Row

    eatdrink Magazine features Richmond Row downtown in their latest issue in a story called The Evolution of Richmond Row. 

     

    "When Ann and David Lindsay moved Ann McColl’s Kitchen Shop to Richmond and Hyman Streets, after five years on Dundas Street in 1972, it was one of just three small owner-operated specialty shops on Richmond Row. Of course, there were restaurants like the Toddle Inn, which opened as a modest establishment with a simple menu and a large, horseshoe-shaped counter in 1947. Today, The Toddle Inn remains the Row’s oldest restaurant and most enduring, nearly seventy years later.

     

    In case you think that’s determination, the iconic CPR Hotel and Tavern, known today by its more familiar name, The Ceeps, has been operating since 1890. When Ontario went dry in 1916, the business continued by operating the rooms. In 1927, when Prohibition ended, the taps began flowing again. Today Colin Tattersall operates three distinct parts to that iconic business: The Ceeps, Barney’s and the outdoor patio on Richmond Street."

     

    Continue reading the story here.

  • Map

    Need help looking for a downtown destination?

    View